University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Research Grants and Awards

2015 Grants

National Science Foundation
Dominik Roesch, Cristian Tiu and Brian Wolfe

Data Analysis and Management Building Blocks for Multi-Campus Cyberinfrastructure through Cloud Federation

National Science Foundation
Sanjukta Das Smith

Collaborator with the UB Department of Mathematics in the NSF EDT: Enriched Doctoral Training in the Mathematical Sciences program

National Science Foundation
Sanjukta Das Smith and Ram Ramesh, co-PIs

An analytical approach to quantifying availability (AQUA) for cloud resource provisions and allocation (2014-16)

National Science Foundation
Arun Lakshmanan, co-PI

Cyber-empathic design: Using embedded sensors to improve product and system design (2014-16)

National Science Foundation
H. R. Rao and Laura Amo, co-PIs, with David Murray

SaTC EDU Collaborative: Cybersecurity for Middle School students at Museums: An Informal Learning Approach (2015-17)

National Science Foundation and National Security Agency
H. R. Rao and Laura Amo, co-PIs, with David Murray


University at Buffalo
Isaac Ehrlich

3E grant for “A human capital agenda for educational and economic development” (2012/13 - 2015/16)

University at Buffalo Institute for Person-Centered Care
Arun Lakshmanan

Cyber-empathic healthcare prognostics

University at Buffalo Center for Home Health and Well-Being through Adaptive Smart Environments
Rajiv Kishore, PI

MEMS and Competitive Game Interventions to Promote ART Adherence in Poorly Adherent HIV Patients

Huawei Technologies
Sanjukta Das Smith, co-PI

Providing reliable cloud services through availability-aware SLA contract designs

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Rajiv Kishore, co-PI

Use of gamified social media with home telemonitoring for patient self-management in poorly controlled Medicaid diabetics: A pilot study of health outcomes, social influences and habit formation

2015 Awards

Kee H. Chung and Sahn-Wook Huh

  • Best Paper award from the Financial Management Association (FMA) European Conference for “Non-information cost of trading and its relative importance in asset pricing.

Kee H. Chung

  • Best Paper award from the Asia-Pacific Journal of Financial Studies for “Investment duration and corporate governance.”

Isaac Ehrlich

  • Named to the National Academy of Sciences Economic and Fiscal Consequences of Immigration committee.

Emily Grijalva

  • Best Article of the Year award from the Academy of Management Perspectives for “Narcissism: an integrative synthesis and dominance complementarity model” (with Peter Harms).

Supradeep Dutta

  • Best Paper award, Business Policy and Strategy Division from the annual Academy of Management conference for “Information asymmetry and acquirer returns: dual effect of venture capital affiliation.”